Inaugural Meeting of SOPN Alumni at Federal Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital Benin City

  • Home
  • -
  • Uncategorized
  • -
  • Inaugural Meeting of SOPN Alumni at Federal Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital Benin City

The newly formed Alumni executive of the School of Psychiatric Nursing (SOPN) of Federal Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital Benin City (FNPHBenin) held its inaugural meeting on Monday 13th May 2024. It is worthy of note that this is first of its kind since the establishment of the school in 1978 after its recognition by the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (formerly known as the Nursing Council of Nigeria) to provide specialized psychiatric nursing training to student nurses as part of their general education.

During its courtesy visit to the Medical Director, Mr Wellington Ogieriakhi, President of the SOPN Alumni, emphasized the need for an alumni association. He stated that the Alumni would be an avenue for the old students to give back to their alma mater for the pivotal role played in shaping their careers. He further noted that it would help to foster development by promoting collaboration, knowledge sharing, professional growth and strengthening the spirit of camaraderie among its members.

In his welcome address, the Medical Director, Dr Imafidon O. Agbonile, who played a significant role in the establishment of the body, expressed his gratitude to the executive team of the SOPN Alumni for their visit. He acknowledged that while the Alumni should have been established years ago, it is never too late to create such a platform. The Medical Director urged the executive members to be committed and dedicated in order to realize the Alumni’s goals.

Other executive members of the Alumni that were present at the meeting include: Mr. Humphrey Olaniyo (Vice-President), Mr. Paul Dako (General Secretary), Mrs. Kimberly Osazee-Osifo (Treasurer), Mrs. Sonia Ademola (Financial Secretary), Mrs. Mariam Arabamen (Public Relations Officer), Mrs. Juliet Efe Omoruyi (Welfare Officer), Mr. Solomon Erhabor (Assistant Secretary), Mrs. Irene Egbon (Auditor I), and Mrs. Excellent Usifo (Auditor II). The meeting concluded with a commitment to uphold the values of professionalism, collaboration, and service to the institution.

By Favour O. Usiobaifo
For: Information and Public Relations Unit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *